Maritime Transport - Ports and Harbours – Statutory harbour limits

What is it: 

The layer(s) shows the statutory limits for various ports and harbours in a number of categories:

  1. Top 11 ports (as defined by Scottish Transport statistics) Forth, Dundee, Aberdeen, Peterhead, Cromarty Firth, Sullom Voe, Orkney, Glensanda, Clyde, Cairnryan, Loch Ryan / Stranraer.
  2. Top 16 ports (as defined by Scottish Transport statistics) as (1) plus Perth, Montrose, Inverness, Lerwick, Ayr.
  3. Competent Harbour Authority (under Pilotage Act 1987) as (1)  and (2) plus Buckie, Burghead, Campbeltown, Fraserburgh, Irvine, Rothesay, Scalloway, Stornoway, Troon, Wick.
  4. Crown / naval ports - Gareloch and Loch Long. 
  5. Trust ports (except Skerray).
  6. 128 local authority ports.
  7. 34 Private ports including all CMAL (Caledonian Maritime Assets Ltd) ports.

If you wish to comment on the data or provide data for a port not currently included, please contact either Marine Scotland on or Transport Scotland on

Date of Data: 2016

Links to Scotland's Marine Atlas: 
This information page is part of the theme: 
Ports and harbours - statutory harbour limits © Scottish Government