Open Government Licence (OGL)

Classified Shellfish Harvesting Areas (FSS) - January 2022

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

Food Standards Scotland (FSS) is responsible for ensuring that shellfish from designated harvesting areas meet the health standards laid down in EC Regulation 853/2004. Classifications are awarded according to the FSS Protocol for Classification and Management of E.coli results. Live bivalve molluscs (LBMs) harvesting areas are classified by monitoring the levels of E.coli in shellfish flesh.

Shellfish classification documents are published by FSS annually. Classification years run from April to March.  Classifications are also updated quarterly.

Leisure Mooring Agreements - Crown Estate Scotland - December 2019

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

The laying of a permanent mooring or other equipment to hold a vessel requires consent from the relevant landowner. For the seabed, this consent will nearly always come from Crown Estate Scotland, who issue three types of mooring licence.

  • Individual: This is suitable for private individuals
  • Commercial: A licence for businesses such as ferry operators, boatyards, charter boats and diving vessels
  • Associations:  Once established, associations are given a seabed agreement enabling them to manage their members’ moorings within a specific area. Associations are suitable for groups of ten or more moorings and provide a degree of security as pressure on areas traditionally occupied by moorings increases.


Subscribe to RSS - Open Government Licence (OGL)