Scottish Marine Regions

What is it: 

Layer shows boundaries of  the 11 Scottish Marine Regions (SMRs) as set out in The Scottish Marine Regions Order 2015, which came in to force on  13 May 2015. Collectively the SMRs known as the 'Scottish Inshore Region' as defined in the Marine and Coastal Access Act 2009.

The boundaries identify the areas for preparing and adopting regional marine plans.   Regional Marine Planning will be taken forward by Marine Planning Partnerships.  The National Marine Plan and Marine Policy Statement  will apply in areas where there is no regional marine plan yet in place.


This information page is part of the theme: 
All Scottish Marine Regions - Copyright © Marine Scotland