Open Government Licence (OGL)

Scottish Assessment areas - Scottish Sea Areas (clean and safe seas monitoring)

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

The 15 sea areas are based on areas previously adopted for certain environmental monitoring programmes. The data from these 15 areas can be presented regionally and also reasonably aggregated to form a national picture and to develop information for the two main areas required for the Marine Strategy Framework Directive initial assessment: the Greater North Sea (Area II) and the Celtic Seas (Area III) which are existing sea areas used by OSPAR (the Oslo Paris Convention for the Protection of the North East Atlantic).

Assessment areas - Charting Progress 2 (CP2) Regions

Marine Scotland Information NMPi icon

Charting Progress (CP) regions are the eight sea areas on which the assessment of the state of the seas was first reported in 'Charting Progress' in 2005, with CP2 following in 2010. The reports are published by the UK Marine Monitoring and Assessment community which has over 40 member organisations and reports on the vision of clean, healthy, safe, productive and biologically diverse oceans and seas.


Subscribe to RSS - Open Government Licence (OGL)